Drum & bass stalwarts Black Sun Empire are to follow up a trio of recent EPs from The Upbeats, Neonlight and Pythius with the release of ‘Ego’ – a five- track, collaborative EP with NZ duo State Of Mind. The title cut will be released on 7th December via their genre-defining Blackout imprint, drawing an end to a prolific 2014 for the label.

‘Ego’ immediately sets the tone with growling bass lines and punchy synth-stabs that underpin dark, techy atmospherics and vocal loops. Skittering melodics then give way to signature frenetic beats and firing drums to round off proceedings in style.Blackout have built a reputation for curating their own brand of dark, neurofunk-inspired drum & bass over the past 12 months and this collaboration with long-term collaborators State Of Mind – who released their latest album ‘Eat The Rich’ via Blackout earlier this year – feeds into the hype already surrounding the label moving into 2015.